Our David and Jonathan Connection


by Deanne Baum

flowerPhoto by Roger Nettles

The marvelous gifts God gives to His children

God is my best friend, but He is also my Father. He is the One I run to when I need Him. I collapse and seek Him out with great intensity when trials come.

There is another whom I refer to as a best friend. This woman came into my life when the last thing I thought I needed was someone who would take up my time, when I had no time left to give.

On the 14th day of November 2014, it was 8 years to the day that God called me out of the world. It was also the day my best friend entered my world. I delight in these details, as it confirms to me, God’s hand in anything and everything I do.

God very graciously and patiently gives us choices. I could have said no to my calling and I could have withdrawn from any contact with this woman who had started coming with me to services a few years ago. I was happy to chat and socialize with her on the Sabbath, but felt more than that would be a challenge.

Evil forces at work sight unseen 

There was a strong pull to withdraw time and friendship. Thoughts popped into my head such as “You have no time to give! This person will take up a lot of your time – it will be too hard – don’t even get anything started!”

I found myself with a very negative attitude and did not realize at the time that Satan was influencing me.(Ephesians 2:1-2;  6:12) Nevertheless, I resisted these thoughts and tried being friendly and loving, as I knew God would be loving and welcoming to any who chose His way. (Mark 9:37)

I quickly came to learn that my new friend not only shared my love of horses, but owned one. We spent time at the stables, I came to know her over coffee at the local coffee-house and began to really enjoy the little escapades. She had the same sense of humor as I had. We came from similar backgrounds, we were involved in the same industry working as nurses. Over time we would clear our schedules to make time together. (Proverbs 27:9) Then my friend decided to get baptized.

The girls go on a road trip 

We set off on a long drive over the border, so that Kelly could be baptized in a crystal clear and cold lake near our Pastor. On the way to Daylesford we talked the day away, interspersed with our favorite tunes. We laughed a lot, blissfully happy in one another’s company and our excitement at what was to transpire  We had the best weekend two singles ladies could have whilst celebrating her new covenant and forming life long bonds. We could confide and trust in one another whilst sharing our hopes and dreams without judgment. (Proverbs 18:24)

Just like David and Jonathan, Kelly and I were moved to give one another some of our treasured possessions. (1 Samuel 18:1-4).

God shows me His will

I had a selfish will of keeping any spare time for myself to study and pursue interests. By listening to the steady, still quiet voice of my Father (1 Kings 19:11-13), I remembered that His way is the right way. My way is always faulty and set for failure.

Thankfully I listened to God. It was tempting not to. But I knew right from wrong. I knew God’s way was one of giving and not taking, so I made the best choice possible. I chose to take this younger lady “under my wing” and be a good friend to her at a time when she did not own a car, had limited resources.  (John 15:9-13)

As I reflect, tears come. Tears of joy and of love. God never ceases to amaze me with the potency of His power and love for His children, who at times, flounder about with wrong thoughts, wrong attitudes and wrong desires.

By surrendering to His will and giving up a small portion of time, I have gained so much more. This lady who I love more than I ever realized, has truly been a God-send.

I have no doubt at all that God gave us to one another. A life-long relationship that defies borders, the influence of others and the trials of this time. Both supporting one another. What we have been given is very rare indeed and God definitely deserves our humble grateful thanks and praise.

Returning home from the recent Feast 

Returning home from this year’s Feast of Tabernacles has been somewhat difficult because I did not want to give up the blissful peace with others of like mind to return to the world again where hate, torture, murder, envy, and every foul thing is perpetuated day after day in this present evil age.  (Galatians 1:4)

I posted a little something on Facebook to reflect that I didn’t want to come back home again to which a mutual friend of ours posted another little something to the effect that “you two will always have one another”. In an instant I was suddenly restored to my usual cheerful self.  It was true.  Kelly and I had attended separate feast sites and we would pick up where we had left off…knowing that we know what one another is thinking most of the time. Whatever it takes we will be there for one another through the good times and the not so good times. (1 Samuel 18:1)

We share our love of God intimately with one another – never jealous or in competition. Always grateful for the excited exchanges. Iron sharpening iron. (Proverbs 27:17)

It is a long distance relationship now, but we are heavily invested with an unspoken agreement.

About Lorelei Nettles

Lorelei was born in Minnesota. She met and married husband Robert in 1982. They have one son, Roger and now live in Arizona. She has always enjoyed writing and has written for online blogs, as a ghostwriter, and for her church for many years.
This entry was posted in Christian Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

