No Apologies for My Beliefs


Are you sorry for who you are and what you believe in?

IMG_5338Photo by Lorelei Nettles

“Man is made by his belief, as he believes, so he is.”

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

 

For the past year or so I have received emails or seen social media posts that reflect people’s opinions on one subject or another. While the topics may be included on the political talk track, they are basic public or personal concerns. The problem is the trend of people feeling guilty for stating their beliefs. Society has become so politically correct that there is extreme pressure to follow the crowd’s ideals or be browbeat into submission. If someone’s opinion is different than the crowd they are called haters, bigots, or worse. Never mind that the very people saying such things are attacking someone else in a hateful way. I often see people write a statement that is then followed by an apology. Statements such as, “I’m sorry if this offends you…” or “I hope this doesn’t make you mad…”

Why do they apologize? Don’t they believe what they write is correct? Isn’t it their belief or opinion?

This relates to our Christian lives as well. Are we hiding who we are under a basket? Are we afraid to state who we are or what we believe? We mustn’t be bullied into apologizing for what we know is right and true. People love to call Christians haters and bigots, but it’s not about hating people, it’s about hating sin. You don’t hate the addict, you hate the drugs and the choice they made for themselves. No Christian should be on the attacking side either. Unfortunately, just expressing an opinion countering what is popular has been made to look like an attack. When I mention attack I mean name calling, abusive words, or physical/emotional harm. Stating an opinion is not an attack.

I despise arguing with others, it is not worth it. We gain nothing when we argue and when it happens to me I shut it down by either no longer responding to the conversation or deleting the activity. This may make the other person think they have won, but that’s okay, I don’t have to argue to state my case. I should be able to say what I believe without retribution. If someone wants to argue or attack me rather than discuss something in a civilized way, or ask questions of why I believe what I do, then why stay involved only to be abused? People who attack are not interested in hearing, only holding their own ground.  I have no problem listening to an opposing opinion, but there is no reason for me to back down on mine in order to “fall into line” with their way of thinking.

Remember Daniel, Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego in the book of Daniel? They didn’t arguing their beliefs, but they made no excuses for them either. They didn’t verbally attack the people around them. Instead, when they were fed unacceptable food they asked for some changes to be made. When the king made an idol to worship, they did not follow along. However, when they were confronted they openly expressed their beliefs knowing they could be punished for having them. Daniel prayed openly to God in front of an open window! He wasn’t trying to hide it from anyone.

I have no political agenda. Only God and keeping God’s law is important to me and yes, that means I will usually lean toward the conservative side of things. It’s just the way it is.

I have made mistakes (sinned) in my past and have been forgiven for those sins. My current stance on any given subject does not reflect who I may have been in the past, so don’t hold me to those old dead standards. Many Christians have completely changed who they once were and continue to improve themselves. The Bible calls it putting off the old man or self. It is a cleansing away of the awful sins we have committed and then forgetting them. Putting on a new man, one that does what is right. (See Colossians 3:1-25) We are told to, “Let your light shine before men…” (Matthew 5:16)  This is important!

Does this mean Christians never make mistakes? No, of course not. We are all sinners. (1 John 1:8) Many attempt to attack Christians when they do err, but as Christ said, “Let him without sin cast the first stone.” (John 8:7) We are also told that we will be hated for what we believe. “If the world hates you, you know that it hated Me before it hated you. If you were of the world, the world would love its own. Yet because you are not of the world, but I chose you out of the world, therefore the world hates you.”  (1 John 15:18-19)

I believe human morality is essential and that a Christian’s rights are just as important as anyones; people who have just learned to yell louder than others to get their way. It only took one woman to have prayer removed from schools.

Just because a law is passed doesn’t make it right. That said, I also believe a law should be abided by unless it goes against God’s laws. That in mind, here are just some of the things I personally believe.

  • The Ten Commandments are the same laws Christ followed and taught.
  • You should be able to own a gun, but I think you should also have to pass some sort of clearance that says you are of sane mind and have no dangerous criminal record.
  • I believe marriage is only between a man and woman.
  • I believe that dressing rooms, public bathrooms and showers are for men or women and nothing in between. (This is a safety and modesty issue for me)
  • I don’t believe you can scream for justice and then if you feel you didn’t get it you have the right to kill others, riot, destroy property, or loot.
  • Murder is unacceptable in any fashion.

You don’t have to agree with me, but I make no apologies for my beliefs. I am a Christian and that means I follow the laws of God to the best of my ability. This occasionally includes expressing my feelings against what I believe to be sinful. Don’t confuse that for hate. While I may point out a sin, I will never physically or verbally attacking anyone in the name of God, it is not my place.

Others may not like what I believe, but again I am not sorry for believing as I do.The only thing I am sorry for is that there are those who do not believe in God and Christ.

 

About Lorelei Nettles

Lorelei was born in Minnesota. She met and married husband Robert in 1982. They have one son, Roger and now live in Arizona. She has always enjoyed writing and has written for online blogs, as a ghostwriter, and for her church for many years.
This entry was posted in Christian Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

