Spoons


By Suzanne Miller

We often have things that make us remember special times and people

Liam Madok Miller 028

One day, I noticed that my spoon collection was getting a little tarnished, so I got out the rubbing compound and a soft cloth and began to take each one down and polish it to a bright shining finish. As I proceeded I thought about each one; remembering the places I had traveled to, the other people who had owned some of them and the lives they had touched. I have spoons from cities across the United States and beyond. Nessie monster from Scotland’s Loch Ness communes with the Ogopogo I got in Canada’s Lake Okanogan. The little Hawaiian girl does the hula next to the stage-coach, from Knott’s Berry Farm and others with castles from faraway places in Wales and Austria. Each one is special and I enjoy seeing the twining vines and towns come to life as I rub the spoons to a high sheen and place them one by one back on their rack.

The most special spoons to me are those that represent seven generations of my family. The little silver spoon, hand-built with a cursive L for my daughter Lily, sits in the top center of my collection. Next to it is my personal baby spoon and on the other side my mother Evelyn’s. My Grandmother Lillian was born in Ithaca, New York in 1896 and her spoon has flowers that climb around it. Her mother Flora was born in 1855 and her spoon has curlicues up the sides of its handle. I have small mother of pearl boxes that once carried Flora’s name cards when she went to visit other ladies for tea. Her mother was Gertrude Theodosia Treman, born in 1832, her spoon comes to a shiny point, maybe to eat grapefruit. And the last spoon belonged to Jared Treman, born in 1800. It is said that his life was one of industry and usefulness. His character was commendable in all respects, right principles guiding all his actions.

These represent my relatives, which span more than 200 years. They were ordinary people who ate their meals with their silver spoons, had children of their own, lived to a ripe old age and died. Their spoons then passed to the next generation. Except for their spoons and their lives, recorded briefly in a genealogy, no one would know they ever existed.

As I admired these spoons, I thought about how God has kept track of everyone who has ever lived. In Psalm 116:15 it says, “Precious in the sight of the Lord is the death of His saints.” God does not just keep track of the righteous, He has a plan for everyone, for they are all potential members of His family. Job says, “If a man dies, shall he live again?  All the days of my hard service I will wait till my change comes. You shall call, and I will answer You; You shall desire the work of Your hands.” (Job 14:14-15)

The story in Ezekiel 37 talks of the resurrection of the descendants of Israel that have been in the grave a long time. These are just dry bones, but God says in verse 14 “I will put My Spirit in you and you shall live.”

Only God can raise people from the dead. He remembers everyone who has ever lived and will place within a new resurrected body the spirit that makes them uniquely them.  He will then offer them His Spirit that brings eternal life.

Sometimes when we look at the genealogies in the Bible and think that these lists are rather boring and could be skipped over, remember that God is letting us know that He has preserved a record of all people. He planned out and controlled who would be Jesus Christ’s ancestors through King David’s lineage. Some may not even know even who their parents were, but God knows. Matthew has an interesting example that shows that God is keeping track, “Are not two sparrows sold for a copper coin?  And not one of them falls to the ground apart from your Father’s will. But the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Do not fear therefore; you are of more value than many sparrows.” (Matthew 10:29-31)

God has a plan. He has kept the memory of all who have ever lived and will raise them up at the last day. (Revelation 21:12-13) Those that desire to follow His way will be written in the book of life. Right now some of my relatives are written in a book of genealogies of the Tremayne family. I hope to meet them when they come up at that time and be able to see their names written in the most precious book of God.

Maybe the next time you see someone’s spoon collection and look at an individual spoon that belonged to someone from long ago, you will think of God’s great plan for mankind.  What a marvelous God we have!

About Lorelei Nettles

Lorelei was born in Minnesota. She met and married husband Robert in 1982. They have one son, Roger and now live in Arizona. She has always enjoyed writing and has written for online blogs, as a ghostwriter, and for her church for many years.
This entry was posted in Christian Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

